Click for a hub of Extension resources related to the current COVID-19 situation.
COVID-19 Resources
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Private Applicator Training

January 29 @ 8:30 am - 12:30 pm

Private Applicator Training Wednesday, January 29, 2020 8:30 am - 12:30 pm Washington County Extension Conference Room 1305 E. Blue Bell Road, Brenham If you plan on using a state limited use or state restricted use pesticide, such as Grazon P+D, 2 4-D, Weedmaster, etc., and need a license, the Texas AgriLife Extension Service will be sponsoring a Private Applicator Training and Testing on Wednesday, January 29th at the Washington County Extension Conference Room. Books and study materials for the course need to be purchased ahead of time for $40.00 at the Extension Office. A registration fee of $10.00 will be charged for the training. The registration fee will include the training, additional study materials, refreshments, and breakfast. The training will begin at 8:30am and conclude at 12:30 pm. Seating is limited please RSVP as soon as possible. The Texas Department of Agriculture who over sees the testing and administration of Applicator Licensing has contracted with PSI Services to administer the exam for agriculture pesticide applicator licensing. Applicants will coordinate testing with PSI at one of their 22 locations around Texas. Details on the process, locations, cost, and other pertinent information will be provided at the training to help applicants complete the licensing process. Once an applicant has completed the training, and pass the exam with a score of 70 or above, they will you will be eligible to apply for your Private Applicator License, which will allow you to purchase all state limited use and restricted use pesticides used in agriculture. For more information and to reserve your spot at the training, contact the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Office of Washington County at (979) 277-6212 or visit the Washington County Extension Website at Private Applicator Q&A Corner What is a Private Pesticide Applicator? A private pesticide applicator is someone who uses or supervises the use of restricted-use or state-limited-use pesticides or regulated herbicides to produce an agricultural commodity on: Personally owned property; Rented property; Property owned by his or her employer; Property under his or her general control; or The property of another person if applied without compensation, other than the trading of personal services between producers of agricultural commodities. An agricultural commodity is a plant or animal grown for sale, lease, barter, feed or human consumption and animals raised for farm or ranch work. No license is required to apply general-use pesticides to produce agricultural commodities. Private Applicator Certificates -- From 1977 through 1989, TDA issued private applicator certificates (not licenses) under a voluntary program. Private applicators who originally obtained a private applicator certification prior to January 10, 1989, were "grandfathered" by the legislature, meaning the certificate does not expire; however, in 1989 the Texas Pesticide Regulations were revised to require recertification for all applicators, including certified applicators, in order to purchase or use restricted-use or state-limited-use pesticides. The original "grandfathered" certificates had an issue number of 158532 or below. Because of computer advancements, when the original certificate is recertified, the applicator is given a new certificate number. Certified private applicators may not supervise an application of restricted-use or state limited-use pesticides. Certificate holders must obtain 15 CEUs every five years to keep the certificate valid. What are the recertification requirements for a Private Pesticide Applicator? Licensed private applicators are required to recertify every five years by obtaining 15 continuing education credits, including two (2) credits in laws and regulations and two (2) credits in integrated pest management (IPM), prior to expiration of the license. Change of Information The Texas Administrative Code (rule 7.20) requires all licensees to notify the department within 30 days of any change in the information provided as part of the application for a license. Licensees must submit a change of information form that is signed. You can scan the signed form and email it to, faxed to 800-909-8534 or mail it to Texas Department of Agriculture, Licensing Division, P.O. Box 12847, Austin, TX 78711. This will ensure you receive licensing information from TDA.

Oops! We could not locate your form.

More Information to Come.




January 29
8:30 am - 12:30 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:


Washington County-Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Office